Our Road is Your Road ~

Your Communities are Our Treasures

US Route 6 is known for its beautiful scenery and small town atmosphere. The theme for the PA Route 6 Heritage Corridor’s Annual Meeting is “Our Road is Your Road, Your Towns are Our Treasures” in celebration of the special communities who make the Route 6 experience memorable to 4.2 million travelers every year.

The PA Route 6 Alliance is inviting all businesses, organizations, community leaders and the public to its 2-day event on May 17 and 18 in Historic Tunkhannock (Wyoming County), the winner of the 2016 Heritage Community of the Year Award. 

The activities kick off on Wednesday, May 17th with a workshop, Downtown Summit: Sharing Ideas for Successful Downtowns Across PA Route 6. Designed for Chambers of Commerce, economic development groups and businesses, the workshop will feature a customized video by Roger Brooks of Destination Development.  Roger will offer suggestions for PA Route 6 Communities on how to make their downtowns more exciting, how to fill empty storefronts and how to recruit new businesses. A panel of experts will then lead a discussion on funding sources, programs, and marketing ideas.

On Wednesday afternoon, a guided walking tour of Historic Tunkhannock will be offered followed by a wine tasting and tour of the Dietrich Theater.

On Thursday, May 18, the Annual Meeting and "Do 6" Awards will begin at 10:30 a.m. at the Shadowbrook Inn and Resort   The Annual Meeting includes a period of networking and viewing of sponsor displays, followed by the PA Route 6 Annual Business Meeting and a presentation on the accomplishments of  PA Route 6 Heritage Community Program, which celebrates its 10 year anniversary. The Keynote speaker for this year's meeting is Dennis Davin, Secretary, Department of Community and Economic Development.  

The annual “Do 6” Award Ceremony will follow.  The "Do 6" Award ceremony, honors individuals, organizations, and events in the categories of: Heritage Partnership Award; Leadership Award; Heritage Community of the Year Award; Heritage Tourism Award; Artisan of the Year Award; and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The deadline to register is Thursday, May 11th

Downtown Summit Program & Annual Meeting Details ~ Registration Form

Sponsor Opportunities ~ Sponsor Registration Form