Winners of the 2020-2021 “Do 6” Awards

Winners of the 2020-2021 “Do 6” Awards

Community leaders, groups, business owners, county commissioners, and state legislators joined the PA Route 6 Alliance virtually on Thursday, September 16, 2021, to celebrate the organization’s 2021 Annual Meeting & “Do 6” Awards.

The event, initially planned as a 2-day in-person Educational Summit & Annual Meeting in Kane, PA, was transitioned to a Virtual Annual Meeting & “Do 6” Awards Celebration due to rising concerns over public health and safety in relation to COVID-19. The in-person Educational Summit, which was to feature workshops and speakers on community development, creative branding, volunteer engagement, bike tourism, and more, will be rescheduled to a later date so participants can still visit the Heritage Community of Kane and its surrounding region.

Alliance Executive Director, Candace Hillyard states, “We were looking forward to coming together in-person in Kane, and we truly appreciate all of the hard work already put in by the Kane community in preparation, especially by Kane Area Development Center Executive Director Kate Kennedy, Mayor Brandy Schimp, and Allegheny National Forest Visitors Bureau Executive Director Linda Devlin. However, the health and safety of the communities across our region is our first priority, so we are thankful to have the capability to still connect virtually to share our organization’s accomplishments and celebrate the people and projects that help further our mission of supporting the PA Route 6 Heritage Corridor.”

Awards were presented for 2020 and 2021 in the categories of Heritage Partnership, Heritage Tourism, Heritage Leadership, Artisan of the Year, and Lifetime Achievement. A combined 2020–21 award was presented for the Heritage Community of the Year. Each award recipient also received special recognition from one or more state legislators in the form of a citation, certificate, or letter of congratulations from the U.S. House of Representatives, PA House of Representatives, Senate, and/or County Commissioners Office.

The PA Route 6 Alliance, a 501(c3) corporation, was established in 2003 to manage the PA Route 6 Heritage Corridor and to implement branding and marketing plans, community development programs and other planning efforts along the corridor. The Alliance includes representatives from all 11 counties, 9 convention and visitor bureaus, 4 heritage areas, local development districts, local business owners, Chambers of Commerce, and other interested parties along the corridor. The PA Route 6 Heritage Communities program is a program of PA Route 6 Alliance and PA Route 6 Heritage Corridor funded by the PA Heritage Area Program under the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

2020-2021 “Do 6” Awards


Presented to a person, group, or project that has demonstrated excellence in historic and cultural preservation, interpretation, and/or education through cross-corridor thinking and interagency cooperation.

2020 Heritage Partnership Award

Endless Mountains Heritage Region
Cain Chamberlin, Executive Director

2021 Heritage Partnership Award

Historic McKean County Collectible Pin Trail

Linda Devlin, Executive Director, Allegheny National Forest Visitors Bureau


Presented to the organizers of a project or event that furthers economic and tourism development while still respecting the heritage and cultural resources of the corridor. 

2020 Heritage Tourism Award

Hotel Anthracite
Chad Coble, Director of Hotel Operations and Sales

2021 Heritage Tourism Award

Lumber Heritage Trail

Holly Komonczi, Executive Director, Lumber Heritage Region


Presented to an Artisan Trail member that exemplifies the goals of the PA Route 6 Artisan Trail program with special attention to regional thinking and cooperation while promoting the arts along the corridor.  


2020 Artisan of the Year Award

Wayne County Arts Alliance

Janet Gaglione, Executive Director


2021 Artisan of the Year Award

Riverside Brewing Company

Deanna and Jason Howles, Owners


Presented to one designated Heritage Community that is embracing their Heritage Tourism WorkPlan and implementing worthwhile projects that show impact and results in their community. 


2020-2021 Heritage Community of the Year Award


Dawn Hull, Executive Director, Mansfield Area Chamber of Commerce

Mayor Kathy Barrett, Mansfield Borough


Presented to a person or agency who exemplifies outstanding leadership and advances the PA Route 6 Alliance mission through heritage development. 


2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

Linda Devlin, Executive Director, Allegheny National Forest Visitors Bureau


2021 Lifetime Achievement Award

Emily Beck, (Former) Director of Tourism Development, VisitErie

Related Links: