2023 "DO 6" Awards

PA Route 6 Alliance Accepting Nominations for 2024 “Do 6” Awards


PA Route 6 Alliance Accepting Nominations for 2024 “Do 6” Awards

Recognizing outstanding persons, groups, and communities along PA Route 6.

The PA Route 6 Alliance is requesting nominations for their 14th annual “Do 6” Awards recognizing individuals, groups, projects and communities that exemplify and advance the Alliance’s mission of protecting, preserving and promoting the scenic, cultural, historic and recreational resources across the 11-county corridor of PA Route 6. Nominations may be submitted until June 15, 2024, by any individual or group through the online or printable form at www.paroute6.com/annual-do-6-awards. Award winners will be notified upon selection and awards will be presented at the PA Route 6 Annual Meeting and “Do 6” Awards Program on October 11th in Honesdale, PA.

Currently, nominations can be made in six categories: 

  1. LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Presented to a person or agency who exemplifies outstanding leadership and advances our mission through heritage development.

  2. HERITAGE PARTNERSHIP AWARD: Presented to a group, person or organization that has demonstrated excellence in historic preservation, cultural preservation, interpretation, and/or education through cross-corridor thinking and interagency cooperation. 

  3. HERITAGE TOURISM AWARD: Presented to a business or project that furthers economic and tourism development while respecting the heritage and cultural resources of the PA Route 6 Corridor.

  4. ARTISAN OF THE YEAR AWARD: Presented to an artist or artisan group that exemplifies the goals of the PA Route 6 Artisan Trail program showing regional thinking and cooperation while promoting the arts along the corridor. 

  5. HERITAGE LEADERSHIP AWARD: Presented to a person(s), business or organization for meaningful contributions and/or through partnerships, by enriching our communities through landscape initiatives or historic preservation. 

  6. HERITAGE COMMUNITY OF THE YEAR: Presented to the designated Heritage Community, who are embracing their Heritage Tourism Work Plans and implementing worthwhile projects and showing impacts and results.

2023 award winners included Hurry Hill Farm and Museum Association in Edinboro (Heritage Partnership); Elliot Ness Museum in Coudersport (Heritage Tourism); Allegheny National Forest Visitors Bureau in Bradford (Heritage Leadership); Honesdale Partnership in Honesdale, PA (Heritage Community of the Year); The Gathering Place in Clarks Summit (Artisan of the Year); and Melinda Meyer of Preservation Erie (Lifetime Achievement). 

For more information on the “Do 6” Awards Program and the 2024 PA Route 6 Educational Workshop & Annual Meeting, visit www.paroute6.com/2024-annual-meeting or contact the Alliance at info@paroute6.com or 814-435-7706.